Daily Prompt: All About Me

Daily Prompt: All About Me.

I’m a sucker for a clever title…If I’m at the library and I cannot decide what to read next, I scan the shelves for a title that speaks to me. When my students would write a paper, I’d insist on a title that really compelled the reader to want to read it. I’ve read so many great blog names on WordPress and enjoy visiting other’s site just because I really like the title.

I started my blog with the hopes that it would encourage me to write more and provide me a place to categorize and store my work. I used to journal on paper, but I find this venue way more fun and so I am prone to write more. It’s nice to feel part of a community of people who also love to write, think and share.

My blog name was inspired by my angel of 16 year, Gelbert, my Australian Shepherd. He had just a wee nub of a tail as his had been docked when he was only three days old. I like the play on words between the nouns tail and tale. I also liked the fact that when I read my blog’s title, I feel happy as I love the image of Gelbert wagging his bit of a tail when he was happy. Actually, he wagged his entire body and this always made me smile and want to give him a huge hug.

If a dog is wagging his tail, he’s usually happy. My blog is a place for me to wag my tales, to explore ideas that make me happy or pique my curiosity, a place just for me to share whatever is rattling around in my head.

I lost Gelbert almost 1 year ago as he finally succumbed to old age. He lost his sight, his hearing and finally his old joints began to give out of him. I carried him up and down stairs that last year of his life and often slept on the floor with him when he could no longer get up on the bed. I loved him like I’ve never loved another living creature, and I miss him like I’ve never missed another living creature. Every time I come to my space, I think of him even more and am thankful that he is still such a part of my daily life. His picture is my Gravatar, taken at the school were I taught; he went to work with me every day for about 8 years, bringing smiles and joy to everyone he met, especially when he’d wag his whole body in greeting.

Gelbert is a starOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Animals, Daily Prompt Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily Prompt: All About Me

  1. Pingback: Why Stuphâ„¢? | Stuphblog

  2. OceanPhoenix says:

    …I’m touched by your story and I do like the title of your blog ..dedicated to a wonderful furry friend you will never forget ..

    Our dog is over eleven years now ..and nothing compares to such a deep relationship between dog and human..

    • Thank you for your comment. I agree that the relationship between dogs and humans is very special. Of course, puppies are a joy to have but there is nothing that compares to the gentle love of an older dog. I hope yours lives a long and healthy life :-)

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What Readers Say About Me | My Blog

  4. kansamuse says:

    Ah such a pretty dog. I just lost one of my dogs and I can see my other getting worse. They are both over 10 but I tried to give them a wonderful life as best as I could.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – All About Me – The (Mostly True) Origin Story of TooFullToWrite | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me … The beginning of Lent | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me | My.Vivid.Visions

  8. Pingback: help, help, I’ve been Liebstered | thematticuskingdom

  9. What a sweet dog ~ you were blessed to have him. I have a 17 year old cat now who is still here, but slowing down rapidly. I understand. So sorry for your loss. xo

Leave a Reply

