Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After.

When my husband and I married a year and a half ago, we wanted to have a small but very special ceremony followed by lots of fun. Our wedding invited people to be present while we exchanged vows and then to join us in “dinner, dancing and happily ever after.” That was how we saw the life we were embarking upon. IMG_3384

I think now, at this sort of middle period of my life, I am more grounded, more content and far happier than I’ve ever been. For the first time, I feel I have the unlimited, unconditional love and support from another human, my husband. Before we met I was not unhappy. I had a house, a good job, plenty of friends and my dog. My life was full but I was going through it alone. When big (or bad) things happened, I had no one to truly share with. Of course, friends and family where there for me, but that is a different kind of love and connection than I get with my husband.

I am in my “happily ever after” now and I hope that I am always grateful for it and never, ever take happiness or love for granted. My husband and I bought a house, fixed it up so it is a comfortable, welcoming place where I like to hang out. I have many things I enjoy doing and the luxury of time to do them…and now we have welcomed a new dog, Atticus, into our lives, which is like icing to the cake. He’s a rescue and joined our family only 3 days ago. We are bonding over long walks, cuddles and serious talks about commitment and what it means to be home.

Atticus en route to York

Each day is new and ever-changing. But I am happy and more peaceful than I’ve ever been and I can only hope that my life, the one I now share so closely with another, will continue to be this good. But even if tough times do come, and I’m sure they will because life is an unpredictable ride, I know we can make it through anything as long as we support each other and try to do our best with each day given to us.

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

  1. Pingback: Happily Ever After | Paul Scribbles

  2. Pingback: To Be Happily Ever After You Must Be Happily Ever Before. | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Getting A Happy Ending – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

