Gelbert Helps a Bird in Need

The other day I saw the most amazing thing. My old Aussie, my sweet and gentle gentleman was asleep in the yard, as he is so apt to do most days it is warm and sunny. I was sitting outside too, watching the grass grow or counting the clouds that passed slowly overhead…Outdoor sitting requires great vigilance!


As we sat soaking up our vitamin D, I saw a cheeky little grey and white bird swoop out of a nearby tree and settle on my fluffy Aussie’s back. Odd, I thought. Usually birds are a bit fearful of larger animals. As I continued to survey this action, the little bird began to hop along all over my Gelbert’s back and use its beak to pull tufts of silky, white dog fur out and grasp them in his beak, which soon became full of fluff so the bird looked as if it had a small beard. This little winged creature carried on unchecked, fearless in his pursuit of some sweet, soft material with which to feather his nest. After a couple of minutes, when his tiny beak could grasp no more, he flew off to a tree that sits near my fence. I am guessing he has his home there and is now the proud owner of a down-filled nest, thanks to the sleepy generosity of my aging Gelbert. Gelbert had no idea a bird was hopping on his body, plucking bit of fur off of him. He slept through the while experience. It was one of the funniest, oddest things I’ve seen in a long time 🙂
Since that day a few weeks ago, my little fur-stealing bird has been back several times. One day he had a friend come with him, an extra note of cheekiness…Two birds robbing an aging Aussie of his extraordinary coat? Since Gelbert is such a generous spirit and has a luxurious and bountiful coat, I let the silly birds dart and hop about, taking tufts of hair and I imagine them flying home, thinking they have hit the jackpot, filling their intricate twig and leaf nest with some of the most beautiful and soft bedding material in the world. And I was so grateful that my Gelbert is such a generous soul, willing to help another creature in need.

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Animals, Thinking Outloud and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gelbert Helps a Bird in Need

  1. awww, that is one lucky bird. appears to be a tufted titmouse, btw.

    • thanks for the info! i didn’t know the species. i have video footage too but couldn’t get it to upload to this site. it’s too funny to watch the bird hopping all over my sleeping dog. 🙂

  2. Walt says:

    Heartwarming :-). Well written!

Leave a Reply

