DP Challenge: FIRE!

First of all, if my house was on fire I would be one very bummed out person. We’ve not even lived here one year, and we had to do alot of renovations to make this old rancher more livable…Also, we installed two heavy-duty smoke alarms last week. Seriously, last week. But if fate had it in the cards to burn our place down, I would have to think fast and grab what I could. I’m thankful that my animals and spouse are sequestered safely outside already; I would muster up the courage to dive back in to save, in no particular order:

1. Artwork!! Can I count all of these as one item? I think that may be cheating…But we have alot of art that means so much to me and my husband. Most of art hanging was done by me, and while it could always be replaced, it would be hard. We also have art created by my husband’s mom who passed away over a decade ago. Not replaceable. And then there are the pieces we collect when we travel: the spirit house from Thailand, the glicee print from Hawaii, the artifacts from Cambodia….choosing between all of these would be too hard, and I’d probably succumb to too much smoke inhalation in making my decision.

2. My photo albums, especially the one my mom made for me that includes all those “adorable” pics of me as I was growing up.

3. The box that contains my dog’s ashes. He passed away less than a year ago and the box that contains his remains sits on my bedside table. That may seem odd to many but it somehow makes me feel comforted to have him close by as he was always near me when he was alive.safe at last

4. My husband’s computer….It is way more powerful than mine and contains a gazillion pics, some of which are ours (wedding, trips, anniversaries) but also it holds many years of photos of his kids. It would be hard to leave the flames without it.

5. My bag of letters….I tend to collect cards and letters and keep most of them in a large bag. These are from friends and family who have sent me something….via snail mail (I am old fashioned and still love to get a card with a stamp on it)…birthday cards, letters from overseas, mementos my students, siblings or husband have given me.

I hope I am fast enough to decide upon these objects, and the fire is slow enough to allow me to grab them and haul them out the door. While everything can be replaced if needed, so many of these items possess sentimental value and I’d be hard pressed to let them go.

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Thinking Outloud and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DP Challenge: FIRE!

  1. longviewhill says:

    Hmmm… interesting mental challenge! I’ll have to think about this one myself – what would I grab? Great post!

Leave a Reply

