DP Challenge: A Room of One’s Own

I am appreciative of the offer of a genie to help me construct my ideal reading/writing/creating space, but I really don’t need magic to have a place to call my own. I am lucky because I already have a room to call mine. When my husband and I moved into our new home, we had an “extra” room that we didn’t know what to do with. We toyed with the idea of a guest room, but we don’t get that many overnight visitors. We also have a furnished guest room so making another seemed a bit silly.

This room sat empty (well, in truth it collected flotsam from all other parts of the house) for about 7 months. My husband, who believes in my artistic talents far more than I do, kept urging me to make this space into an art room, a studio where I can make a mess if I want or just go inside and close the door if I need a spot to think. I kept waffling, saying that I didn’t need a studio; he kept kindly suggesting that I did….And of course, in his infinite wisdom, I learned that he is right.

We bought a drafting table and chair and an area rug to put down so I can pull out my paints and pastels and not worry about where materials settle. I have the drafting table placed just below a window which allows me to look out onto our front yard. I can see the trees, the snow, the grass beneath and – if feeling a bit blocked or lazy – I can simply look out and watch for the occasional car to pass by.

In my room, I also have some bookshelves, a table and a small chest with storage for most of my art supplies. A swing arm lamp is mounted to my drafting table to spotlight my work and help me see values and color tones. On the wall I have hung a bulletin board so I can tack up images or ideas that inspire. Now I am taking a class in pastels so the work I am doing  – mainly still lives – litter the room.

I like having a room to call my own, a place dedicated to my inner self and outward expression. I like to color, paint and play in this room but I also like to read, write and listen to music. All in all it’s a very comfortable space that is beginning to reflect me. I am grateful that we have this luxury of space and that I have the time to devote to my artistic development. I am lucky I have a partner who thinks that I am special and who encourages me to be creative.

So, no genie required. I have a safe haven where I can dabble in posts, paintings or any other activity that captures my attention. Certainly, Virginia Woolf got some of it right back in 1929…a dedicated space and a level of freedom/independence makes it far, far easier to create and cultivate talents. a room of one's own

 

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Thinking Outloud and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DP Challenge: A Room of One’s Own

  1. Kim says:

    Your space sounds great! Thanks for commenting on my dream space post too; this was a fun Daily Prompt. I like reading about everyone’s ideas of their fantasy spaces, and this has motivated me to get my real studio cleaned up so I can share some pictures of it soon. ~Kim

    • Thanks, Kim. Will look forward to more posts from you…Like you, my husband was an avid birder growing up and he can still identify tons of birds on sight and sound. Very cool.

  2. I “stumbled” upon your blog . 🙂 I’m a big fan of DIY so your titled caught my interest. its also a great thing – having a space of your own. I have an apartment all to myself (for the most part) but it might as well belong to my cats, for all that I’m there. Thanks for sharing and enjoy your time off from your class.

Leave a Reply

