DP Challenge: Rip it Off or Pull it Slowly?

Writing in Response to WordPress’ Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

         My husband asked my last night if I was worried; he said he’d read my posts          regarding our house burning down and the articles I’d chosen to save. I then realized that he had no idea what DP Challenge means, and that I am responding to a topic chosen by someone else! I reassured him that I was not obsessing about fire and I promised to include the prompts if I chose to reply to a DP, so hopefully anyone who reads my posts will understand the context. 🙂

So, how do I prefer to make changes? Admittedly, I am not a person who likes change; I find big changes very hard and often stubbornly plant my feet and butt my head against the wall in order to avoid them. The irony is that change is the only constant in this life, and this belief is something I understand and embrace. If its cold and gray outside, if I wake up in a lousy mood, if my energy level is low, I know that all I have to do is be patient and soon these things I view as negative will shift. The earth will rotate. The weather will warm and the sun shine again. I will shake off a bad mood and find the energy to climb back on the X-trainer. Change is a given…if this is so, then how come it can be so hard?

Maybe it depends on the kind of change and what the change means to us. Do we view the change as positive or negative? Often I fight change difficult – like quitting my job even though I was dissatisfied, selling my house, moving to another state – because I am uncertain of what the new will bring. If I quit my job, where will I work? If I move, will I find more friends and be happy in a new environment? Change is hard because we often fear the unknown. At least this is true for me.

But I have to confess that most changes I have implemented in my life have worked out for the best. I am usually happy I had to the courage and commitment to affect change. And maybe that’s another part of the equation…Whether the change is something I have elected or whether it is something being forced upon me. Of course, we all like to feel we are in control of our lives and that the choices we make are our own.

Change is hard, and since it is hard for me I typically elect to move slowly, inching toward the shift so that I can adjust to it mentally. Big, sweeping changes tend to paralyze me and it takes me time to acclimate myself in a shifting landscape. If I can take things more slowly, I will. While I admire those folks who can rip off a band-aid in one swift act or alter their lives quickly with a “cold turkey” mentality, I know that I am not in that camp.

The Greek philosopher Heraclitus said, ” You cannot step twice into the same rivers; for fresh waters are ever flowing in upon you.”  I agree with this assertion, but whether I chose to simply dip my toe into the changing water or take a full body plunge is up to me. I am a toe-dipper, but once I feel safe and have located a reservoir of courage, I happily submerge myself. For me, change is a process not an event.

photo (2)

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt Challenge, Thinking Outloud and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DP Challenge: Rip it Off or Pull it Slowly?

  1. Linda says:

    Love this one Carole! Well said!! Ps- thanks for the dp explanation!

Leave a Reply

