Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe.

Please, Don’t Call Me….

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

First, I never really thought of myself as having a relationship with my phone but maybe that’s one way to put it. I’d always viewed objects like phones, computers, and readers as simply things, technologies, that might be making my life a wee bit easier. Last week, when we had the Fire challenge, I didn’t even think to rescue these items from my house. Not certain what that says about me – if anything.

Part of me loves these new technologies and I freely admit to using them. I did have an old flip phone with no access to the Web. I had to text using the old-style keyboard…you know, push the button three times to generate a “C”? I was actually pretty happy with it until my husband talking me into getting a smart phone. I said I wouldn’t use it. He said I would…and so I began my life with an I-Phone, which now is with me a great deal of the time. However, I rarely use it as a phone, preferring instead to text, take pictures, email and surf.

Yes, it’s a bit addicting. If I can’t recall a piece of information, I now reach for my I-Phone to Google it. Hopefully I’ve remembered to charge it and it’s not red lining, gasping for breath. While access to a world of information has never been easier, I wonder if it’s making me dumber? I can look up facts but I don’t seem to recall them so easily. I’m thinking maybe the intake of so much new data, while initially fulfilling and helpful, does not make it to my long-term memory, the place where info needs to go to qualify as learned. I love my phone and the options it give me to connect with a wider world, but I would not be lost without it. I think (hope) I could adjust to life without Smart technology. I could untether and unplug myself without too much pain of withdrawal.

And I never answer the thing. If it rings, I see who’s calling and let it roll to voicemail unless it’s a member of my family. I don’t like talking on the phone so much and have found I much prefer texting. Maybe I’m lazy and don’t want to invest too much time in lengthy conversations…I don’t know. Drop me a text and I’ll get back to you…relishing the fact that I have neat little green and blue bubbles to track what’s been said before. That helps…alot.

I never want to be so dependent on my phone (or any other device) that I can’t live my life without it if needed. If for some reason the power failed, I hope I can still locate a map, a dictionary or encyclopedia, a pad and paper and be happy and successful going “old school” for a while. My relationship with my phone would have to qualify as “it’s complicated” to borrow a phrase from Facebook.

 

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

  1. misselletea says:

    Love your post – I feel the same way. I do love my phone, but I wouldnt be too lost without it. I used to love talking on the phone but now I much prefer text, and I laugh at my other half who spends hours blethering away to his friends like a wee sweety wife! I like the idea of your phone gasping for breath 🙂

  2. Pingback: WE CALLED EACH OTHER ALL SUMMER « hastywords

  3. Pingback: Big Phonale – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe … or Ring, Ring | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  5. Pingback: Call Me Maybe, Call Me Surely, Just Don’t Call Me Late For Dinner « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings

  6. Paul Schrading says:

    I find the human voiced more personal and engaging than a word on a paper.

Leave a Reply

