Daily Prompt: Proud

Daily Prompt: Proud.

Maybe I am dating myself, but when I read this prompt I immediately thought of that old SNL skit: Daily Affirmation with Stuart Smalley. I loved that character! Stuart Smalley (aka Al Franken) would preen and smile into the mirror saying, “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough and doggone it, people like me!”I have found that if an affirmation does not come from the external world (and you think it should), then it is smart and necessary to give one to yourself! Stuart_Smalley

I’m lucky in that my amazing husband gives me loving affirmations almost every day. He sees the miraculous in almost everything I do. If I worked out and rode my bike for 45 minutes, he says I’m an uber athlete…If I paint a picture, he thinks it’s a true work of art, even though I know my perspective is wonky and my colors muddy. Just yesterday he was proud of me for figuring out how to adjust his complicated sound system so it would stream my Pandora tunes (I’m not a total Luddite when it comes to tech :-)). He’s my biggest cheerleader and it’s a real boost to my self-esteem to have his supportive voice running a track in my mind; far better to let my brain’s auto track run on a positive note rather than a negative.

My husband often tells me he’s proud of me, but I think one of the most important times was when I finished my first triathlon – a sport he adores and competes in often. I was very nervous, especially about the swim, but I did it and felt great crossing the finish line. I even completed the course with a smile and a respectable time. So for that accomplishment I was proud of me too 🙂

I think most of us humans are too quick to put ourselves down, to focus on what we did “wrong” rather than what we did “right” or what felt good in the moment. Maybe by remembering the importance of self-love and a healthy dose of daily compassion we can begin to chip away at the foundation that so frequently reverts to focusing on the negative. I, for one, like Stuart Smalley’s daily affirmation and I try now to pat myself on the back if I am brave enough to tackle something challenging.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About waggingmytale

I am an English teacher, writer, animal lover, and aspiring athlete. If you stop by and read or "stumble" upon my blog, please leave a comment and say hello. It's nice to know who visits :-) Namaste!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt Challenge, Thinking Outloud. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Proud

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Proud – Poem / Poetry – A Double Edged Sword | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. How great to be so blessed to have such great support in your hubby! That’s awesome!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Proud … Thank you kind Sir | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

Leave a Reply

